A Portrait of a Pregnancy

My personal journey building our family.

Week 5, Day 3 (+/- 12 days)

on September 12, 2012

I had the ultrasound today.  The holding 3-8oz glasses of water thing was PAINFUL.  My technician told me I can ignore the front desk when they tell me to drink that much.  She told me, usually women are lying when they said their bladders are full.  She was like…WOW.  Maybe it has to do with the fact that I’m pregnant?!  Anyways.

The sac grew!  Still doesn’t mean anything.  But it can mean everything.  I’m very excited to see there is progression.  There is still only a sac, and no embryo to be seen.  So, we aren’t in the clear quite yet.  It is measuring out to be 7mm.  I found online a formula to use to calculate age of the pregnancy.  Because the sac will grow at a rate of 1mm per day after 4 weeks gestation.  4 weeks plus 7 days = 5 weeks.  Well, my technician told me 5 weeks 3 days, plus or minus 12 days.  Whatever.

Of course everywhere online they are telling me to avoid the temptation of reading into any of this.  Enjoy the fact I am NOT bleeding or having any kind of scary pain.  Enjoy that I am in fact pregnant and everything is on autopilot.  All there is for me to do is wait.  I’m beginning to realize that technology isn’t nearly as advanced as I thought it would be.  Doctors don’t know ANYTHING specific to individuals, and base everything off of statistics and previous experience.  This is good and all, but not when it comes to ME.  Or YOU.  Every woman’s body is entirely different.  Starting with cycle length and ending with hormone levels.  Trying to fit into “normal” is trying to fit  each delicately designed woman into a box.  It’s really not fair, even if it is necessary.

I am really trying to stay positive throughout this experience, believing that whatever happens is supposed to happen.  Less stress on the baby will lead to a happier, healthier baby as well.

Om….

name


Leave a comment