A Portrait of a Pregnancy

My personal journey building our family.

Week 7, Day 2

on September 8, 2012

I got my second blood draw today.  After talking with the technician, it seems I will be able to get some answers, even if tentative ones, on Monday.  She told me to feel free to call the doctors office at any time.  And if I wanted, I could pick up my test results from the lab as well.  I’m thrilled!  Last night I went to the Macy’s sale, and picked up a few Maternity tops.  I got two which almost fit now…but make me look pregnant.  They are quarter length sleeve tees with rouched sides.  I also got a pretty white blouse and a nautical blue striped blouse.  I can’t wait to wear them!    Sure I’m being a little optimistic and shopping a little early, but I have to think that way for my mental health.  I just have a feeling its going to be great news next week, and I’m very excited that I get to have my DH home with me when I hear it.

I feel like he was a little cheated because he wasn’t home to witness the first pregnancy test.  He does admit that it is difficult to think of the baby as a NOW thing, because he can’t feel it, can’t see it, whereas I can.  I suppose that is the special bond a mother has with her child, that is irreplaceable.  Though, that isn’t to say that my DH won’t have a special bond with our child.  He will. It’s just different.  It just doesn’t start now.  Once this baby starts to kick, he will feel differently.

name


Leave a comment