A Portrait of a Pregnancy

My personal journey building our family.

Week 6, Day 5

on September 3, 2012

Last night, I bought a journal to start writing to my baby.  I plan on allowing anyone who also wants to write in it include something as well.  I especially want to make sure that great grandparents, grandparents and aunts and uncles have something included.  I was thinking it would be fun to write something on the day the baby is born, as well for each birthday and major life event.  I plan on giving them the journal as they graduate from High School.

Today I went shopping with my sister.  Of course, I had to go to Baby Gap.  They have so many adorable outfits, we kept squealing that we wished we knew the gender.  But unfortunately that wont be for a  few more months.  However, I couldn’t help but pick up a few gender neutral basics.

First baby clothes

First baby clothes

Since we are in our nursery, let me give you a quick little tour.

Baby Dresser

Baby Dresser

Here is the dresser purchased by Nona a few months back.  We were shopping at a consignment store, and found this lovely set that included a crib that would turn into a full size bed eventually.  They are very high end, but because they had been floor models, they are in perfect shape at a reduced amount.  The crib itself is in perfect condition, and does not have a drop-side (which is banned).  The crib is also not put together quite yet.

Nursery Crib

Nursery Crib

The light will be replaced with a chandelier, and the wall behind the crib will be distressed white barn wood paneling.  As you can see, we haven’t even replaced electrical sockets after we painted this room Owl Gray.

My theme is an Enchanted Forest.  Think white distressed wood, gray, dark chocolate.  Fur and crystals.  Cinderella in the forest. I wanted something neutral but a little feminine, since I will be spending so much time in this tiny, cozy room.

Tiny Baby Closet

Tiny Baby Closet

The closet is tiny, and needs curtain rods for all the little clothes.  But since this is just the nursery (my husbands future office), I didn’t think it was a big deal the closet is small.  I also have an armoire in the room to provide more closet space.  Currently, it is housing my Barbie collection ;D.  I will probably paint it a distressed white.

Baby DIY Armiore

Baby DIY Armiore

furry rugs

furry rugs

I just threw down these rugs, but I need to rearrange them.  But you can see the direction I am headed.  Of course, these are faux.

How many of you had your nursery at least started months before you became pregnant?

 

name


Leave a comment